Skip to content

“Father Greg Brought Me Back”

April 5, 2013

When I was a kid, my priest at home was like the embodiment of God himself. He was extremely eloquent, had a booming voice, and was revered by all of the Church. As I got older, his style changed. He began to give homilies that were void of God’s love. He got angrier and angrier over time. After a while, I stopped going to Church. I went to college preparing to become an Atheist.

One Tuesday evening early in the year, a cute girl on my floor asked if I wanted to go to Tuesday night dinner and mass at the Newman Center. I met Father Greg and listened to him preach. His homily was about the joy of being Catholic and about living out God’s love. There was something about him. He embodied that joy that I had felt as a Catholic in my childhood and early teen years.

Thanks to Father Greg, I came back to the Church. And whenever I need him, he is there for me. Even if I call him sobbing in the middle of the night, he will always answer and will always listen. Even when I expect him to get pissed off or give me a lecture, he is always understanding and always supportive. Even when I feel like I don’t deserve to be loved by anyone, he loves me and he shares God’s love with me.

Father Greg is a good man because he is open with students and is willing to humble himself in order to help us out. He admits the mistakes of his past to help us learn the right way forward.

I shudder to think where I would be without Father Greg. His love, humility, and openness have changed my life forever.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

