Skip to content

Fr. Greg Went the Extra Mile

April 5, 2013

I met Fr. Greg when I was a freshman in college and that was before he was even at GW. He was still at St. Andrew’s and he let my college’s group stay overnight at the church for the March for Life (we had come from Ohio). My life was a complete mess at the time I was struggling with self-injury and deep depression. I went to Confession with him that night and admitted that I’d been involved in some rough stuff. It was a 30 minute Confession and he didn’t rush at all. He listened, helped me know I was loved, and for the first time, I actually truly believed I was forgiven by God. After the Holy Hour that night, I stopped him randomly in the hallway. I asked if I could talk to him. He gladly agreed. He sat and talked with me for an hour and a half and prayed over me. After we finished, he made me promise that before I was allowed to hurt myself again, I had to call him. That was over 4 years ago. This deal still stands today. And even though with his help I stopped self-injuring almost a year and a half ago (with his urging), if I get to that point now, even in the middle of the night, I call him. I can’t tell you how many phone conversations we’ve had over the last 4 years, but I can tell you that every time we did talk, I wouldn’t cut that night. And that was a victory. God worked in my life through my conversations with Fr. Greg.

He also drove 5 hours to visit me at my college when I was going through the darkest time of my life. Fr. Greg saved my life. It’s as simple as that. He also helped me understand that no matter what kind of crap was going on in my life, that I was loved by God and by him. Thank you, Fr. Greg.
From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

