Skip to content

“He comforted me”

April 5, 2013

When I decided to come to GW, I was initially afraid that I would get lost at such a large school. I never could have imagined finding a support network that would stand behind me, in good times and more importantly during rough times. For me, that support system has been found at the Newman Center. Like any college kid, though, I have had my up and downs and there have been times where I have completely pulled away from my faith. These are the times when life seems more overwhelming, and no matter what is going on Father Greg has been there for me.

There is one time in particular that comes to mind. My mom was in the hospital, my dad was at risk of losing his job, and my best friend was struggling with her own life. It was one of those moments in my life where I felt like the world was against me. Although I had been pulling away from my faith, God pushed me to go to talk to Father Greg. Being hundreds of miles away from home, I didn’t know where to turn and Father Greg was there for me. Without me even saying anything, he saw the look on my face and knew I needed just to talk. I remember distinctly walking for five or ten minutes with him not ready to say anything and he just supported me. He comforted me and I walked away from our talk feeling motivated and more importantly feeling loved. Father Greg has the rare quality of undeniable compassion and he is always willing to help you or just listen and support you. For that, I will always be grateful.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

