Skip to content

“I can always count on Father.”

April 5, 2013

When I first came to the Newman Center last semester, I was scared. I didn’t know anyone. I even contemplated not returning because I had not made any friends. At my first Tuesday Night Dinner Fr. Greg came up to me and immediately engaged me. He introduced me to people, he laughed with me, and he encouraged me to put myself out there. Now, almost 8 months later I could not imagine my life without him or the Newman Center. He has shown me nothing but unconditional love and support in all walks of my life. When my father had been deployed with the US Army last year, he talked to me whenever I was sad or upset, said prayers for my dad, and continued to ask how he was doing. When my mother’s best friend, an atheist, came to Mass he opened his arms wide to her and embraced her knowing full-well that she didn’t believe.

Whenever I’m bored, sad, distraught or just want a good laugh I can always count on Father. He never hesitates to drop his work and talk to me. He walks me back to my dorm when it’s 2am out of fear that something might happen to me. Once when a few of us were going to dinner, I was cold. Without even a second thought he took off his jacket and handed it to me.
He is a selfless man who has shown me the true love of Christ. He has brightened my life significantly and given me a reason to get up each morning. He has shown me how to love, the virtues of holiness, and what it truly means to be a Christian. His smile automatically brightens my day and his laugh is contagious. A year ago today I would have laughed at the prospects of joining a religious order. Today, i have developed such a personal relationship with Christ through Fr. Greg that I am actively discerning religious life. He has led me to truly KNOW Jesus and the understand and love my faith beyond belief.
Because of Fr. Greg, I know that I will always have a home on campus and a family, my friends at Newman, who will love me no matter how weird I am or obnoxious my laugh. The Fr. Greg I know is loving, selfless, competitive in his sports, and has an amazing sense of humor. Fr. Greg, we love you!
From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

