Skip to content

New Catholic Reflects on His Journey

April 5, 2013

I was introduced to the Catholic faith 7 months ago through a close friend of mine.  Then, I just wanted some questions answered and wanted to feel it out. When I started my investigation, Catholic priests were really just a weird group in society and a totally detached class of people in my life. I gave faith itself a similar treatment— it was removed from my life and I almost totally ignored it.

I joined RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults) to inquire about the faith. Father Greg was constantly welcoming, and I soon discovered his undying commitment towards the faith and charity. He is totally accessible to students and has earned the respect of everyone within the Newman Center.  Students, many of whom find themselves in dire personal situations, flock to him for personal, social, and spiritual direction (which he powerfully reinforces with his own brand of humor and charisma).

Soon, I grew in faith more than I ever could’ve imagined anytime, anywhere in my life. Catholicism not only became more accessible to me, it became an essential part of who I am and will continue to be. Father Greg was instrumental in that change.

Last week, I converted to the Catholic faith with the sacrament of First Holy Communion and Confirmation after half a year of teaching in GW’s RCIA. I’ve never been more satisfied with the direction of my life and who I am as a person of faith. None of it couldn’t have happened without Father Greg.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

